Research Project for the IB Theatre

The responses of this entry will pertain to the CHS IB Drama blog entry of the address below.

http://chsibdrama.wordpress.com/2009/10/28/summary-of-your-research-project/

The culture I believe I’ve decided on is France. The theatre practice is their take on the absurdist. The project will be about the French aspect, but perhaps it’ll carry over a bit into other cultures so as to make comparison. I will be examining Jean-Paul Sartre’s No Exit and conjecturing how it was devised and affected by the world in which Sartre lived. The practice of absurdist theatre in France, I believe, had to’ve been conceived by Social and Political factors and their effects on the playwrights of Sartre (among others). It is unclear to me at this point whether the acting style found in absurdist drama was in place before the plays, or if it was evolved because of the plays. More research will undoubtably follow.

♪♪♪

2 Comments

  1. Marika said,

    November 4, 2009 at 6:53 pm

    Ah! You took my layout!

    I…I….I don’t know what to say!

  2. jane ferguson said,

    November 6, 2009 at 7:32 pm

    Great research project idea…good practice…now lets get your research started….come to me for written material. Use the school library as well as the online research tools….little blue cards…ask me about them Jane PS Remember, you are performing, and giving your all right now to that and I understand what you’ve been through with the show…be gentle with yourself, see me when you need support, and lets get you a play title SOON…Jane


Leave a Reply

